Error rendering feed: ('doctype' is an unexpected token. The expected token is 'DOCTYPE'. Line 3, position 3.)
Our People - Edmonton Chamber of Commerce & World Trade Centre | Edmonton, AB
Home > About > Our People

Our People


Board of Directors and Standing Policy Committee Chairs


The Edmonton Chamber of Commerce's  volunteer board establishes and oversees the strategic vision of the organization. Along with policy committee volunteers, the board brings a depth of business acumen, leadership, professional experience and policy advice to both the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce and World Trade Centre Edmonton.

2015 Chair of the Board
Jerri Cairns
Parlee McLaws LLP

Vice Chair
Bill Blais
Maclab Enterprises
 James Merkosky
Pricewaterhouse Coopers
Past Chair
Simon O'Byrne

Scott McEachern
Enbridge Pipelines Inc.
Chris Bruce

Len Rhodes
Edmonton Eskimo
Football Club
Jim Webb
Urbanlife Properties Ltd.
Alyson Hodson
zag creative


Dawn Harsch
Exquisicare Inc.


Dr. Glenn Feltham 
Northern Alberta
Institute of Technology
Andrea Mondor
Andrea Mondor
Consulting Ltd.
Crystal Graham
Kasian Architecture Interior
Design and Planning Ltd.




Standing policy committees serve as the policy advise arm for the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce and World Trade Centre Edmonton. Appointed by the board and Edmonton Chamber staff, standing policy committee chairs provide leadership to teams of senior volunteers from the business community and develop policy positions aimed at lobbying various levels of government on issues important to business.


Municipal Affairs
Mike Saunders

Finance & Taxation
Craig Thorkelsson

Energy & Environment
Bill Ross
Vercerta Inc.

Workforce Development
Rick Butler
Lokken College 


Trade & Market Access
Darrell Toma
Toma & Bouma
Management Consultants



   Janet Riopel
 President & CEO


Janet Riopel has deep roots in our community and considerable experience in managing complex, multi-stakeholder projects. She has worked in senior roles in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors.

Janet has filled many senior volunteer roles on boards, including Compassion House Foundation, Edmonton Oilers Community Foundation, Canadian Policy Research Networks and Canada Millennium scholarship foundation. She was campaign chair for the United Way of Alberta Capital Region, board chair of both MacEwan University and the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce, president of the Urban Development Institute Alberta and served on the board of the Canadian Homebuilders' Association, Edmonton Region. She currently sits on the School of Business Advisory Committee for Grant MacEwan University.

Janet's community service has brought her much recognition. She was honoured with the Queen's Jubilee Medal, was named one of Alberta's 50 Most Influential People by Alberta Venture Magazine and was a Global TV Woman of Vision. Janet has received the Urban Development Institute's merit award, the City of Edmonton's outstanding service award and the Edmonton Home Builders' Association master
member award. She is currently a member of the International Women's Forum and Synergy Network.

Janet is a lifelong Edmontonian with two children and four amazing grandchildren.

Copyright © 2011 Edmonton Chamber of Commerce.  All rights reserved.
600-9990 Jasper Avenue, Edmonton, AB T5J 1P7
Phone: (780) 426-4620 | Fax: (780) 424-7946 |